Skip to content

The winners of the Venice Film Festival

The Venice Film Festival recognized directors and actors for movies that premiered at the 74th edition. The Venezia 74 Jury was chaired by Annette Bening, and comprised of Ildikó Enyedi, Michel Franco, Rebecca Hall, Anna Mouglalis, David Stratton, Jasmine Trinca, Edgar Wright and Yonfan. In having viewed all 21 films in competition, it decided as follows:






Golden Lion for Best Film to:
The Shape Of Water
by Guillermo del Toro (USA)





Silver Lion – Grand Jury Prize to:
by Samuel Maoz (Israel, Germany, France, Switzerland)





Silver Lion – Award for Best Director to:
Xavier Legrand
for the film Jusqu’à la garde (France)



Coppa Volpi for Best Actress:
Charlotte Rampling
in the film Hannah by Andrea Pallaoro (Italy, Belgium, France)







Coppa Volpi for Best Actor:
Kamel El Basha
in the film The Insult by Ziad Doueiri (Lebanon, France)





Award for Best Screenplay to:
Martin McDonagh
for the film Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Martin McDonagh (Great Britain)





Special Jury Prize to:
Sweet Country
by Warwick Thornton (Australia)





Marcello Mastroianni Award
for Best Young Actor or Actress to:
Charlie Plummer
in the film Lean on Pete by Andrew Haigh (Great Britain)